Which services clearly cover both jobs?
Creative Covers and UK Publishing House are the clearest published matches for a thumbnail-readable ebook cover and a printer-specific front-spine-back wrap. Creative Covers expressly addresses thumbnail visibility and names several publishing platforms, while UK Publishing House designs for small storefront sizes and the selected printer or platform’s specifications.[2][6]

Book Beaver is worth considering when file handover matters most. It names PDF, PNG and JPEG deliverables, offers PSD or AI source files when needed and calculates spine width from page count and book size. Its cited page does not expressly promise thumbnail-size testing.[3]
These are provider descriptions rather than independent tests. Ask for reduced-size proofs and written confirmation that the print file will use the selected printer’s template.
Compare the six services on the same criteria
Creative Covers
- Thumbnail readability: Says covers are designed to remain eye-catching at thumbnail size.[2]
- Print wrap: Supplies paperback and hardback wraps meeting the requirements of KDP, IngramSpark, Lightning Source and Lulu.[2]
- Rights and files: Says it uses no AI covers and gives the customer copyright.[2]
UK Publishing House
- Thumbnail readability: Says every cover is designed to work at approximately 200 pixels wide, prioritising contrast, legibility and impact.[6]
- Print wrap: Supplies front-spine-back paperback and hardback wraps built to the selected printer or platform’s specifications.[6]
- Rights and files: Offers platform-optimised ebook files and print wraps.[6]
Book Beaver
- Thumbnail readability: Its cited page does not state a specific thumbnail-size test.[3]
- Print wrap: Calculates spine width from book size and page count and can update the print file once the final count, size and format are known.[3]
- Rights and files: Lists PDF, PNG and JPEG files, with PSD or AI supplied when needed.[3]
Dissect Designs
- Thumbnail readability: Include a small-size legibility test in the written scope.
- Print wrap: Offers print editions containing the front, back and spine.[1]
- Rights and files: Address export formats, editable files and asset-rights terms in the quotation.
Chandler Book Design
- Thumbnail readability: Include a thumbnail review in the written scope.
- Print wrap: Offers bespoke hardback and paperback covers.[4]
- Rights and files: Address final formats, source files and complete rights terms in the quotation.
Ebook Writers UK
- Thumbnail readability: Mentions ebook-platform optimisation.[5]
- Print wrap: Offers a print-ready paperback cover.[5]
- Rights and files: Lists PNG and JPEG among its digital formats.[5]
Write a genre and audience brief
Provide the title, author name, synopsis, genre, intended audience and any specific requirements. Ebook Writers UK also asks about preferences for colour, imagery and font style.[5]
Add the book’s themes, the preferred visual style and examples of covers with the right tone. Book Beaver requests these details, Dissect Designs discusses the story, theme and author’s ideas, and UK Publishing House begins with tone, audience and market position.[1][3][6]
Ask the quotation to state how many initial concepts are included. UK Publishing House promises multiple concepts but does not give an exact number.[6] Creative Covers includes a testimonial mentioning four samples, but this is not presented as a standard contractual inclusion.[2]
Compare concepts at thumbnail size
Review each concept at full size and at a small, storefront-like size. Check title hierarchy, author-name legibility, contrast, the focal image and whether the intended genre remains apparent.
Creative Covers expressly designs for thumbnail visibility.[2] UK Publishing House uses an approximate width of 200 pixels as its small-size benchmark.[6] For the other four services, add a reduced-size proof and approval stage to the written scope.
Approve the ebook front cover and the expanded print composition separately. A successful front does not settle the placement of the spine title, back-cover text or barcode.
Confirm the print-template inputs
Before the wrap is constructed, provide the selected printer or platform, trim size, format and final page count. Book Beaver calculates spine width from page count and book size and can update the file once the final details are known.[3]
UK Publishing House says it builds wraps to the chosen printer or platform’s exact specifications. It identifies the blurb, author biography, barcode and other required elements as back-cover inputs.[6] Creative Covers names KDP, IngramSpark, Lightning Source and Lulu among the platforms it supports.[2]
Ask the designer to confirm in writing:
- the printer or platform template being used;
- trim size, paper stock and binding;
- bleed, resolution and colour profile;
- who supplies and positions the barcode; and
- whether a page-count change includes an updated wrap.
Separate cover ownership from asset permissions
Ask for separate written terms covering the finished design, bespoke artwork and every third-party asset. Creative Covers says it uses no AI covers and that copyright belongs to the customer, but its cited page does not explain the treatment of stock images or fonts.[2]
UK Publishing House states that authors retain ownership in its ghostwriting description, not expressly in the cover-design section.[6] Book Beaver permits an author’s own photograph and says it can enhance it, but its cited page does not settle the licensing of other assets.[3]
Request an asset schedule covering:
- stock-image and font licences;
- model or property releases where relevant;
- permitted territories and uses;
- print-run or other usage restrictions;
- who keeps proof of purchase; and
- whether bespoke artwork and layered files transfer to the customer.
Specify every final file
Put each required file in the quotation, including its format, dimensions, colour setting and whether it will be flattened or editable.
Book Beaver expressly lists publish-ready PDF, PNG and JPEG files, plus PSD or AI source files when needed.[3] Creative Covers identifies separate ebook designs and platform-tailored print wraps, while UK Publishing House identifies platform-optimised ebook files and wraparound covers; their cited pages do not name every export format or confirm source-file delivery.[2][6]
Ebook Writers UK names PNG and JPEG and offers a print-ready paperback file.[5] Dissect Designs and Chandler Book Design describe ebook and print services but do not name final file formats on their cited pages.[1][4]
If a layered PSD or AI master is required for later changes, name it as a deliverable rather than assuming it is included with final files.
Compare prices, revisions and guarantees
Book Beaver lists ebook covers from £250, including unlimited revisions, and gives a project-specific price and turnaround after enquiry.[3] UK Publishing House quotes after establishing the genre, format and scope, with pricing varying by complexity and whether the project is ebook-only or a full wrap.[6] Exact package prices are not stated on the cited pages for the other four services.
Creative Covers advertises unlimited changes.[2] UK Publishing House offers multiple concepts and unlimited revisions, while Dissect Designs promises adjustments or a replacement design until approval.[1][6] Ebook Writers UK offers multiple revision rounds without stating a numerical limit.[5]
Dissect Designs requires a 50% deposit before design begins.[1] Creative Covers and Book Beaver advertise money-back guarantees, while UK Publishing House advertises a satisfaction guarantee; their cited pages do not give the conditions.[2][3][6]
What to confirm with each provider
- the number of initial concepts and what distinguishes a revision from a new concept;
- revision deadlines and charges for changes to page count, trim or format;
- the complete package price and payment schedule;
- cancellation terms, deposit refunds and guarantee conditions;
- stock-image, font, model and property permissions;
- ownership of bespoke artwork and access to editable files;
- the exact ebook, print and source-file deliverables; and
- the template and technical specifications for the selected printer or platform.
Choose according to the evidence you need
Choose between Creative Covers and UK Publishing House first when both thumbnail treatment and a printer-specific full wrap are essential. Creative Covers names major self-publishing platforms and expressly addresses thumbnail visibility.[2] UK Publishing House gives the more detailed description of small-size treatment and exact front-spine-back construction.[6]
Consider Book Beaver when named export formats, optional editable files, a published starting price and spine calculation carry more weight, but obtain a thumbnail-review commitment in writing.[3]
Before commissioning, obtain a reduced-size ebook proof, the selected printer’s template, confirmed trim and page-count details, an asset-rights schedule and an itemised final-file list.
References
- Book Cover Design | London | Dissect Designs (dissectdesigns.com)
- Book Cover Designer | Creative Covers – Award-Winning Book Cover Designs (ccovers.co.uk)
- Book Cover Designer UK & Illustrators | Book Beaver (bookbeaver.co.uk)
- Chandler Book Design | Book Designer UK | Book Cover Designer (chandlerbookdesign.com)
- Best Book Cover Design Services in UK — Book Cover Designers (ebookwriters.co.uk)
- UK Book Cover Design Services | Stunning Covers (ukpublishinghouse.co.uk, 2015)