Before commissioning a UK trade mark opposition, instruct an adviser to verify the published application, filing window, earlier rights, possible grounds and evidence, then quote separately for contact, filing, evidence, settlement and representation.[1][4]

Verify the application and possible grounds
Ask for a short written assessment covering:
- The application: confirmation that it is an accepted application published in the Trade Marks Journal, its publication date, current status, applicant, address for service and the goods or services potentially requiring opposition. An opposition may address all or part of the application.[1]
- Earlier rights: each registered or unregistered mark or right relied upon, its proprietor and the relevant goods, services or commercial activity.[1][7]
- Possible grounds: absolute grounds concerning the applied-for mark, such as descriptiveness or lack of distinctiveness, considered separately from relative grounds based on an earlier mark or right.[1]
- Eligibility: the IPO says anyone may oppose on absolute grounds, but only the proprietor of the earlier mark or right may oppose on relative grounds.[1]
- Proof of use: where an earlier registration is use-dependent, Mewburn Ellis says it can support opposition only for goods or services for which use is established, unless there is an exceptional justifiable reason for non-use.[5]
- Unregistered rights: what dated material shows genuine UK commercial use, where and when it began, and whether it predates the opposed application and the applicant’s use.[7]
A watch alert or similarity result is a reason to investigate, not evidence that an opposition will succeed.[1]
Choose the procedure by timing and intended effect
- Threatened opposition: TM7a is an online-only, no-fee notice. It does not commit the filer to oppose, but the IPO says it should be used only when opposition is seriously contemplated.[1] The IPO will refund a TM7 filed in the extended third month if the filer did not previously submit TM7a.[1]
- Pre-action contact: written contact with the applicant is separate from filing an opposition. The IPO encourages a potential opponent to explain the contemplated action and allow an opportunity to withdraw or negotiate.[1]
- Formal opposition: this is available after publication but before registration and may challenge all or part of the listed goods or services.[1]
- Third-party observations: these may be submitted after publication and before registration, but they are not formal legal action and do not bind the IPO. The IPO will not act on observations based on relative grounds.[1]
- Post-registration action: opposition is no longer the procedure. The relevant forms are TM26(I) for invalidation, TM26(N) for non-use revocation, TM26(O) for revocation on other grounds, TM26(R) for rectification and TM27 for a qualifying intervention.[1]
Require the adviser to confirm the official publication date, status and filing window rather than relying on an alert or assumed deadline.[1]
Define responsibility for legal review and evidence
The initial opinion should identify the proposed grounds, challenged goods or services, earlier rights, proof-of-use risks and evidence needed for the factual allegations.[1][5][7] The engagement should then state what evidence the client must supply and who will prepare, file and copy each item.
Evidence and correspondence sent to the Tribunal must be copied to the other party with confirmation. Under rule 64(6)(b), evidence not copied as required is not treated as filed, and persistent failures may affect costs.[2]
Procedure affects the evidence budget. In Fast Track proceedings, further evidence requires permission, decisions are normally paper-based, and additional evidence or a hearing is allowed only exceptionally; the IPO may convert a Fast Track case into a normal opposition.[5] The Tribunal can explain procedure but cannot advise on the merits or strength of a case.[2]
Request a stage-by-stage quote
Ask each adviser to price these stages separately:
- application, earlier-rights and grounds review, including written merits and proof-of-use advice;
- TM7a or pre-action correspondence;
- preparation of any formal TM7 or TM7F;
- evidence planning, preparation and filing;
- cooling-off negotiations and settlement drafting;
- written submissions, hearing preparation and advocacy;
- costs advice and any appeal or post-registration action.[1][5]
For each stage, request the pricing basis, assumptions, included hours, responsible fee earner and limits on correspondence, documents or witnesses. VAT, IPO fees and other disbursements should be shown separately.
Keep appeal work outside the initial scope unless required. Mewburn Ellis says an appeal may be filed within 28 days to a court or the Appointed Person, whose decision is final.[5]
Scope cooling-off and settlement separately
Cooling-off is not a pre-filing extension. It becomes available only after opposition proceedings begin; both parties must agree and file TM9C during the applicant’s two-month defence period.[1]
Separate pre-filing negotiation from post-filing cooling-off. The quote should state:
- who will contact the applicant and draft the opening proposal;
- how many negotiation rounds are included;
- whether the adviser will draft or review specification narrowing, consent, withdrawal or coexistence terms addressing territory, goods or services, sales channels or presentation of the marks;[4][7]
- who will monitor procedural deadlines and complete the necessary UKIPO steps if settlement is reached.[1]
IPO mediation is another option to price separately. It is available for trade mark opposition and relative-ground invalidation proceedings.[1]
Compare four UK trade mark opposition advisers
Sprintlaw UK
- UKIPO scope: advertises UK opposition strategy and broader trade mark and intellectual-property advice.[4]
- Evidence and hearing support: lists evidence work, settlement or coexistence terms, written submissions and hearing representation.[4]
- Fee transparency: offers a free, no-obligation call followed by a fixed-fee quotation.[4]
Mewburn Ellis
- UKIPO scope: explains UK opposition, normal and Fast Track routes, proof-of-use analysis and wider strategic trade mark advice.[5]
- Evidence and hearing support: covers evidence and decisions made on the papers or following a hearing.[5]
- Fee transparency: the cited page does not state a fee model or exact charges.[5]
Go Legal
- UKIPO scope: advertises case assessment and negotiation advice for work before both the UKIPO and EUIPO.[6]
- Evidence and hearing support: advertises evidence planning, written arguments, hearing representation and case updates.[6]
- Fee transparency: says work may be charged at a fixed fee or hourly rate and offers a free consultation.[6]
Harper James
- UKIPO scope: advertises filing UK oppositions, managing communications, appeals and trade mark monitoring.[7]
- Evidence and hearing support: lists evidence collation and preparation of submissions.[7]
- Fee transparency: offers an initial no-obligation consultation.[7]
Separate IPO fees, adviser charges and cost awards
Official UKIPO fees
TM7a carries no IPO fee, while TM7 requires the appropriate fee. The cited IPO guidance does not state the exact TM7 or TM7F filing fee, mediation fee or standard-track cost-award amounts.[1] Check the applicable official fee before filing.
Adviser charges
Professional charges should be separated from UKIPO fees. Request distinct prices for initial advice, filing, evidence, negotiation, written submissions, hearing representation and any appeal, with VAT and disbursements identified.
Tribunal cost awards
UKIPO cost awards are contributory, assessed using a published scale and discretion, and are not expected to reimburse all professional expenditure. Fast Track awards are capped at £600, excluding official fees.[1]
An applicant withdrawing after opposition will normally pay the opponent’s costs, except where proceedings were started without warning or an opportunity to negotiate. An applicant that defends and loses may have to pay costs, while a successful defence is still unlikely to recover all expenditure.[1]
What to confirm with each provider
Sprintlaw UK publishes a usual turnaround of 5-10 working days, but the cited Sprintlaw UK, Mewburn Ellis, Go Legal and Harper James pages do not publish actual prices or cancellation rules.[4][5][6][7]
- exact prices for each stage, included hours, VAT and disbursement treatment;
- service limits, retainers and minimum contractual commitments;
- payment dates, cancellation and refund terms;
- provider-specific client eligibility or objectively stated suitability criteria;
- independently verified success rates;
- whether hearing representation is included in Harper James’s stated service.
Use a commissioning checklist before instructing
Require a written scope naming the application, challenged goods or services, earlier rights, proposed grounds, proof-of-use position, immediate deadline and first authorised task.[1][5]
- Allocate responsibility: state who monitors deadlines, collects evidence, copies filings to the other party, handles settlement and approves additional fees.[1][2]
- Resolve conflicting procedural statements: the IPO says only the proprietor of an earlier right may oppose on relative grounds and places cooling-off after proceedings begin.[1] Go Legal says a person with a legitimate interest may oppose and refers to filing TM7 during a cooling-off extension.[6] These accounts conflict, so the adviser should confirm the procedure against IPO guidance.
- Limit the initial instruction: commission verification and merits advice first, then authorise filing, evidence, negotiation, hearing or appeal work only if required.
References
- Objecting to other peoples trade marks and the legal costs – GOV.UK (gov.uk)
- Manual of trade marks practice – Tribunal section – Guidance – GOV.UK (gov.uk, 2023)
- How Trade Mark Opposition Works in the UK | Sprintlaw UK (sprintlaw.co.uk)
- UK Trade Mark Opposition Procedure (mewburn.com)
- Trade Mark Opposition UK: How to Challenge a Competitor's Trade Mark Application – Go Legal (go-legal.co.uk, 2026)
- How to oppose a UK trade mark application in 2025 – A legal guide (harperjames.co.uk)